field Museum DEAI Council Election

2021-22 Results Announced

Election winners are visible on the DEAI Staff Council page.

The Election Committee's work is now concluded, and the newly-elected DEAI Council has met for the first time in early 2022.

If you have any remaining questions about this election process itself, please email us at

If, however, you have general DEAI questions, we recommend that you ask those of the DEAI Council itself.

You have our heartfelt thanks for your participation in this process.


The 2021-2022 DEAI Election Committee

What is the DEAI staff Council?

The DEAI Staff Council is a group made up of staff, and scientific affiliates elected by the Museum community. Along with the Museum's Chief Diversity Officer, Sara Furr, PhD, and Diversity, Equity, Access, and Inclusion (DEAI) Coordinator, Bethany Johnson, the Council will help identify and implement organizational priorities and activities to enhance the Museum's DEAI and anti-racism goals by providing guidance and strategic recommendations to Board members, leadership, staff, and community partners.

For more information on the Staff Council and members' roles and responsibilities, please see the Inaugural Year DEAI Staff Council Charter.

Who is the Election Committee?

The Election Committee is a small group of staff volunteers tasked with making the election process run smoothly and transparently. To avoid conflicts of interest, Election Committee members will not be able to run for the actual DEAI Council. Please see the FAQ page or Election Council page for more information.

Other questions?

Please see our Frequently Asked Questions page or contact the Election Committee with your questions regarding the election process.

For general DEAI thoughts and feedback, contact the DEAI Staff Council at