Election Process

After the Election of 2021, we have decided to introduce a new process for the 2023 Elections based on concerns and feedback we received from staff. For any follow up questions or concerns, feel free to email Inclusion@FieldMuseum.org.


  • Sit in on departmental meetings (either the CDIO and DEAI Coordinator or 2 members from Council) for all departments and introduce ourselves, the work of the Council, present upcoming election, and encourage staff to run for a seat.

  • Have all candidates fill out an application to pre-verify and commit to all the requirements of the job prior to even running.

  • Invite interested staff to come to our offices and ask questions if they would like, ask for suggestions on their campaign, etc.


  • Have each candidate present their statement to their department (virtually, most likely zoom). Prompts will be given as an option.

    1. Each candidate will have 5-10 minutes to present.

  • Departments have 2 weeks which include candidates preparing their statements, arranging a time when most people are available, and holding this meeting.

    1. Recordings can be made for those who cannot attend.

  • The chosen candidates will act as representatives for their departmental grouping, so it is important to have their department’s approval. Number of candidates from each department is dependent on the size of the department/

  • 2 members of the Council will be able to attend each of the department elections as facilitators


  • Election Council sends out an electronic ballot for each department to choose their representative. Ballots will remain open for 1.5 weeks.

  • The final candidates chosen from each department will go on to be the next Council!

There will also be 2 wild card chairs open for someone of any department to fill, so everyone should feel encouraged to run.

Departmental Grouping Breakdown

Each grouping was determined by the Executive that oversees each of these various departments. As seen highlighted in bold, seats on the Council per grouping are based on the total number of staff in each grouping. An extra seat on the Council was given per every 50 people within each grouping (i.e. 100 total staff members, 2 seats on the Council) to ensure well-rounded representation.

The election in May 2023 will rotate out some of the current members, particularly where there is over representation, in order to help bring more representation across all departments. We have already asked our current council to decide whether or not they will choose to stay or give up their seat. Highlighted in red we have the number of seats that will make up the current Council by the time of elections ("-->" indicates a member leaving), after members are rotated out. As you can see, we still have slight over representation in the departments under Thorsten and a lack of representation in the departments under Le Monte, Jaap, Charles, and Rob. If you’re in those departments, we hope you decide to join us!

There will be 2 open wild card chairs, for someone of any department to fill, so feel encouraged to run regardless of the numbers here!

Department Groupings for Representatives

Le Monte (CFO): 8 departments: 95 pp total: 2 chairs, 1 chair→0

  • CFO Office

  • Facilities

  • Finance

  • Housekeeping

  • Human Resources

  • Print Shop

  • Protection Services, 1→0

Jaap (Head of Exhibitions): 1 department: 61 pp: 2 chairs, 1 chair→0

  • Exhibitions, 1→0

Thorsten (VP of S&E): 7 departments: 193 pp: 4 chairs, 7 chairs→5

  • Gantz Family Collections Center, 2

  • Negaunee Integrative Research Center, 1

  • Keller Science Action Center, 2→0

  • Learning Center, 1

  • Repatriation

  • Science and Education, 1

  • SEM

Charles (VP of IA): 3 departments: 34 pp: 1 chair

  • External Affairs

  • Institutional Advancement

  • Membership

Stacy (Executive Director of Marketing and Communications): 2 departments: 13 pp: 1 chair

  • Marketing

Rob (CTO): 1 department: 14 pp: 1 chair

  • Information Technology

COO: 2 departments: 36 pp: 1 chair

  • Visitor Services

  • Public Relations

Total of 15 seats